Point-of-Care-Testmethoden

Unifying Laboratory and Point-of-Care Test Methods towards an eHealth Platform

Franziska Dinter¹; Peter Schierack¹; Gregory Dame²; Michał Burdukiewicz³; Stefan Rödiger¹*
¹ Brandenburg Technical University Cottbus – Senftenberg
² Brandenburg Medical School Theodor Fontane
³ Warsaw University of Technology
* stefan.roediger@b-tu.de

Challenges in modern medicine and patient care in rural regions

Cardiovascular diseases are one of the major causes of adult mortality in the western world. Lifestyle, genetic predisposition, false diagnoses and other factors all contribute to this and impose a heavy burden on the health system. Demographic and structural changes pose additional challenges for patients in rural areas with low population density 1Conventional diagnostic methods are primarily based on anamnesis and qualitative and quantitative measurements of of biomarkers. All techniques frequently used to detect biochemical or genetic biomarkers as immunoassays, bioimage informatics, flow cytometry, PCR-based methods and Next Generation Sequencing require expensive and immobile analystical devices 2.
Addressing the challenge of the growing number of cardiovascular diseases requires a two-step solution involving the detection of prognostic or diagnostic biomarkers on site in combination with automatic data exchange. Since the 2000s, the volume of digital information stored in the electronic health record (EHR) or available in the literature has also increased rapidly. The EHR is intended for use of patient information for administrative tasks in health care (e.g., billing), clinical informatics and bioinformatics. Such large volumes of data have to be analyzed with more sophisticated techniques based on machine learning. The self-learning algorithms can be employed to evaluate the patient-specific information and possibly return suggestions related to possible diagnosis or therapy. Prerequisites, however, are availability of homogenous data and model interpretability 3The former provides all the information necessary for the learning process. The latter is necessary to allow physicians to understand reasons behind the decision. The combination of elements of these techniques has a high potential for the development of patient-oriented and patient-personalized diagnostic systems 4.

Combining laboratory and point-of-care test methods

In our work we investigate how biomarkers, concepts from laboratory devices, bioimage informatics, medical OMICS data and bioinformatics can be combined into a system for patient-oriented data acquisition. Initially, we used only three biomarkers for cardiovascular diseases. The protein-based biomarkers c-reactive protein (CRP) and brain natriuretic peptide (BNP) were covalently bound to microbead surfaces as described elsewhere 1Cell-free mitochondrial DNA (cfmDNA) served as DNA-based biomarker. This was captured by a complementary capture probe on the microbead surface. Fluorescence- and size-coded microparticles were used to distinguish the biomarkers. The microparticles were prepared and immobilised in a flow cell on a microfluidic chip (bi.flow Systems GmbH). cfmDNA was detected by a complementary fluorescence-labeled probe. Specific fluorescence-labelled antibodies were used to detect the protein biomarkers. In combination with our VideoScan technology 2 the samples can be analyzed fully automatically.
We identified a buffer in which both DNA and protein biomarkers can be detected simultaneously. It was possible to detect the biomarkers both in independent reactions and at the same time specifically. The antibody detection achieved a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR = 10 log10 (signal-to-noise)[dB]) and a relative fluorescence intensity (refMFI) of 9 dB and 0.8 for BNP, and 14 dB and 2.8 refMFI for CRP. The DNA-based biomarker cfmDNA was detected with an SNR of 20 dB and a refMFI signal of 0.7 in the presence of 1ng/µL cfmDNA. Kinetic experiments indicate that 50% of the fluorescence intensity is achieved within 7 minutes. In addition to the hardware we have developed digilogger, an interactive open source web application. As already described elsewhere3 we use the shiny technology to easily merge underlying data analysis framework and user-accessible web interface. Open source software can contribute to reproducibility and exchange of data 4digilogger can be used for data evaluation, visualisation and in the future for classification and machine learning (→ decision support system). The overall system 5 is to be further expanded in the future as a point-of-care technology.

References

Stefan Rödiger et al., “Fluorescence Dye Adsorption Assay to Quantify Carboxyl Groups on the Surface of Poly(Methyl Methacrylate) Microbeads,” Analytical Chemistry 83, no. 9 (May 1, 2011): 3379–85, https://doi.org/10.1021/ac103277s.
Stefan Rödiger et al., “VideoScan – A Microscope Imaging Technology Platform for the Multiplex Real-Time PCR,” March 18, 2013, www.gene-quantification.de.
Stefan Rödiger et al., “Enabling Reproducible Real-Time Quantitative PCR Research: The RDML Package,” Bioinformatics, August 26, 2017, doi.org/.
Stefan Rödiger et al., “R as an Environment for the Reproducible Analysis of DNA Amplification Experiments,” The R Journal 7, no. 2 (2015): 127–50, journal.r-project.org.
Franziska Dinter et al., “Integration of Cardiovascular Disease Biomarkers in a Microfluidic Microbead Chip,” in New Challanges & Perspectives for IVD in the Aging Society (Potsdam Days on Bioanalysis 2017, Potsdam: F1000Research [Poster], 2017), https://doi.org/DOI: 10.7490/f1000research.1115161.1; Claudia Deutschman et al., “Comparison of Lab and Point of Care (POC) Technologies – Case Study for CHI3L1,” in New Challanges & Perspectives for IVD in the Aging Society (Potsdam Days on Bioanalysis 2017, Potsdam, 2017), doi.org.

en_GBEnglish
de_DEGerman en_GBEnglish

Point-of-Care-Testmethoden

Zusammenführung von Labor- und Point-of-Care-Testmethoden zu einer eHealth-Plattform

Franziska Dinter¹; Peter Schierack¹; Gregory Dame²; Michał Burdukiewicz³; Stefan Rödiger¹*
¹ Brandenburg Technical University Cottbus – Senftenberg
² Brandenburg Medical School Theodor Fontane
³ Warsaw University of Technology
* stefan.roediger@b-tu.de

Herausforderungen in der modernen Medizin und Patientenversorgung in ländlichen Regionen

Herzkreislauferkrankungen sind eine der Hauptursachen für die Sterblichkeit bei Erwachsenen in der westlichen Welt. Lebensstil, genetische Veranlagung, Fehldiagnosen und andere Faktoren tragen dazu bei und belasten das Gesundheitssystem erheblich. Der demografische und strukturelle Wandel stellt Patienten in ländlichen Gebieten mit geringer Bevölkerungsdichte vor zusätzliche Herausforderungen. 1. Konventionelle Diagnoseverfahren basieren in erster Linie auf Anamnese und qualitativen und quantitativen Messungen von Biomarkern. Alle häufig verwendeten Techniken zum Nachweis biochemischer oder genetischer Biomarker wie Immunoassays, Bioimageinformatik, Durchflusszytometrie, PCR-basierte Methoden und Next Generation Sequencing erfordern teure und immobile Analysegeräte 2.
Um der Herausforderung der wachsenden Zahl von Herzkreislauferkrankungen gerecht zu werden, bedarf es einer zweistufigen Lösung, die den Nachweis von prognostischen oder diagnostischen Biomarkern vor Ort in Kombination mit einem automatischen Datenaustausch ermöglicht. Seit den 2000er Jahren hat auch das Volumen der in der elektronischen Gesundheitsakte (EHR) gespeicherten oder in der Literatur verfügbaren digitalen Informationen rasant zugenommen. Die EHR ist für die Verwendung von Patienteninformationen für administrative Aufgaben im Gesundheitswesen (z.B. Abrechnung), in der klinischen Informatik und Bioinformatik vorgesehen. Derartig große Datenmengen müssen mit ausgefeilteren Techniken auf der Grundlage des maschinellen Lernens analysiert werden. Die selbstlernenden Algorithmen können verwendet werden, um die patientenspezifischen Informationen auszuwerten und gegebenenfalls Vorschläge für eine mögliche Diagnose oder Therapie zu machen. Voraussetzungen sind jedoch die Verfügbarkeit homogener Daten und die Interpretierbarkeit des Modells 3. Erstere liefert alle für den Lernprozess notwendigen Informationen. Letzteres ist notwendig, damit Ärzte die Gründe für die Entscheidung verstehen können. Die Kombination von Elementen dieser Techniken hat ein hohes Potenzial für die Entwicklung von patientenorientierten und personalisierten Diagnosesystemen 4.

Zusammenführung von Labor- und Point-of-Care-Testmethoden

In unserer Arbeit untersuchen wir, wie Biomarker, Konzepte aus Laborgeräten, bioimage informatics, medizinische OMICS-Daten und Bioinformatik zu einem System zur patientenorientierten Datenerfassung kombiniert werden können. Zunächst verwendeten wir drei Biomarker für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen. Die proteinbasierten Biomarker c-reaktives Protein (CRP) und brain natriuretic peptide (BNP) wurden wie an anderer Stelle beschrieben kovalent an Mikroperlenoberflächen gebunden 1. Zellfreie mitochondriale DNA (cfmDNA) diente als DNA-basierter Biomarker. Diese wurde von einer komplementären Fängersonde auf der Oberfläche der Mikropartikel erfasst. Zur Unterscheidung der Biomarker wurden Fluoreszenz- und größenkodierte Mikropartikel verwendet. Die Mikropartikel wurden in einer Durchflusszelle auf einem mikrofluidischen Chip (bi.flow Systems GmbH) immobilisiert. cfmDNA wurde von einer komplementären fluoreszenzmarkierten Sonde nachgewiesen. Zum Nachweis der Protein-Biomarker wurden spezifische fluoreszenzmarkierte Antikörper verwendet. In Kombination mit unserer VideoScan-Technologie 2 können die Proben vollautomatisch analysiert werden.
Wir haben einen Puffer identifiziert, in dem sowohl DNA- als auch Protein-Biomarker gleichzeitig nachgewiesen werden können. Der Nachweis der Biomarker konnte sowohl in unabhängigen Reaktionen als auch gleichzeitig spezifisch erfolgen. Der Antikörpernachweis erreichte ein Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis (SNR = 10 log10 (Signal-Rausch)[dB]) und eine relative Fluoreszenzintensität (refMFI) von 9 dB und 0,8 für BNP sowie 14 dB und 2,8 refMFI für CRP. Der DNA-basierte Biomarker cfmDNA wurde mit einem SNR von 20 dB und einem refMFI-Signal von 0,7 in Gegenwart von 1ng/µL cfmDNA nachgewiesen. Kinetische Experimente zeigen, dass 50% der Fluoreszenzintensität innerhalb von 7 Minuten erreicht werden. Zusätzlich zur Hardware haben wir digilogger entwickelt, eine interaktive Open-Source-Webanwendung. Wie bereits an anderer Stelle3 beschrieben, verwenden wir die Shiny-Technologie, um das zugrunde liegende Datenanalyse-Framework und die benutzerfreundliche Webschnittstelle einfach zusammenzuführen. Open-Source-Software kann zur Reproduzierbarkeit und zum Datenaustausch beitragen 4. digilogger kann für die Datenauswertung, Visualisierung und in Zukunft für die Klassifizierung und das maschinelle Lernen eingesetzt werden (→ Decision Support System). Das Gesamtsystem 5 soll in Zukunft als Point-of-Care-Technologie weiter ausgebaut werden.

Literaturverzeichnis

Stefan Rödiger et al., “Fluorescence Dye Adsorption Assay to Quantify Carboxyl Groups on the Surface of Poly(Methyl Methacrylate) Microbeads,” Analytical Chemistry 83, no. 9 (May 1, 2011): 3379–85, https://doi.org/10.1021/ac103277s.
Stefan Rödiger et al., “VideoScan – A Microscope Imaging Technology Platform for the Multiplex Real-Time PCR,” March 18, 2013, www.gene-quantification.de.
Stefan Rödiger et al., “Enabling Reproducible Real-Time Quantitative PCR Research: The RDML Package,” Bioinformatics, August 26, 2017, doi.org/.
Stefan Rödiger et al., “R as an Environment for the Reproducible Analysis of DNA Amplification Experiments,” The R Journal 7, no. 2 (2015): 127–50, journal.r-project.org.
Franziska Dinter et al., “Integration of Cardiovascular Disease Biomarkers in a Microfluidic Microbead Chip,” in New Challanges & Perspectives for IVD in the Aging Society (Potsdam Days on Bioanalysis 2017, Potsdam: F1000Research [Poster], 2017), https://doi.org/DOI: 10.7490/f1000research.1115161.1; Claudia Deutschman et al., “Comparison of Lab and Point of Care (POC) Technologies – Case Study for CHI3L1,” in New Challanges & Perspectives for IVD in the Aging Society (Potsdam Days on Bioanalysis 2017, Potsdam, 2017), doi.org.

de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman