Artificial intelligence

Artificial intelligence specifically designed for the analysis of biomedical data

Marco F. Schmidt
biotx.ai GmbH c/o TechCode Jägerallee 16 14469 Potsdam, Germany
schmidt@biotx.ai

With long and cost-intensive and especially a high number of unsuccessful clinical trials (especially phases II and III), drug development is on the verge of losing its profitability.1 Clinical trials mainly fail because a) the addressed drug target turns out to be not central to the disease mechanism and b) the wrong patients are selected for clinical trials.2

One way to improve the success rates is through genetic biomarkers gained from the analysis of existing biomedical data for drug target linkage and, more importantly, for patient stratification.3 However, biomedical data are difficult to analyze due to their structure of small sample sizes and many features (so-called high-dimensionality).

Most current genetic biomarkers rely on single gene variants and are, thus, limited in their predictive power. Because many diseases come into place due to complex interactions of multiple gene variants, it seems reasonable to strive towards multigene, so-called polygenic biomarkers. The problematic nature of biomedical data (high-dimensionality: small sample size, many features), however, makes the discovery of polygenic markers most difficult.

Maschinelle Lernen

Fig. 1. biotx.ai’s machine learning identifies complex interaction in biomedical data, yielding Next-Generation Biomarkers with outstanding accuracy and sensitivity rates compared to existing single feature biomarkers.

biotx.ai developed a machine learning approach specifically designed for the discovery of complex interactions in biomedical / genomic data. In contrast to standard biomarker discovery technologies, biotx.ai’s machine learning platform was designed to reliably find complex interactions in high-dimensionality data (see Fig. 1). This enables the discovery of polygenic, Next-Generation Biomarkers (NGBs) that are much more powerful than their current single-gene counterparts: For complex diseases such as Late-Onset Alzheimer’s Disease (LOAD), the currently used single gene (monogenic) biomarker APOE4 displays an accuracy rate below 60% (50% being random). In contrast, biotx.ai’s LOAD Next-Generation Biomarker makes use of polygenic interactions and has an accuracy of 85%.

By using biotx.ai’s Next-Generation Biomarkers with their superior accuracy and sensitivity rates in prediction, the right patients can be selected for clinical trials phase II and III, making the drug development process faster, expensive and, most importantly, more successful.

As mentioned, biomedical data show the problematic structure of small patient numbers, often less than 500, in relation to the examined characteristics, often exceeding 1 Million. The analysis of such high-dimensionality data, especially when testing for interactions, are prone to result in a high rate of false-positives, due to the multiple comparison problem in statistics: If many data series are compared, similarly convincing, but coincidental results may be obtained.

The uniqueness of our machine learning platform is its ability to mitigate the multiple testing problem, i.e. keep the real effects, but exclude the ‘false alarms’. It does so by leveraging structural and mathematical properties of biomedical data as well as contextual information mined from biomedical journals and databases. The approach works and each NGB has been validated on up to 5 completely independent datasets (out-of-sample prediction) of the same disease using standard machine learning metrics such as accuracy and precision and recall (often referred to as sensitivity in the medical field).

The use of these metrics (see explanation and example in Tab. 1) also enables comparing our Next-Generation Biomarkers with the markers of other companies who claim that they use AI to generate better biomarkers - we can demonstrate that our Next-Generation Biomarkers objectively outperform those of our competitors.

Tab. 1. The prediction quality of a biomarker can be determined by precision and recall analysis following the equations in the last two lines.

TRUE STATE”

PREDICTION

Healthy

Sick

Healthy

True Negative (TN)

False Positive (FP)

Sick

False Negative (FN)

True Positive (TP)

Precision = TP / (FP + TP)

Example biotx.ai LOAD biomarker: 85% compared to 60% of APOE4

Recall (Sensitivity) = TP / (FN + TP)

Example biotx.ai LOAD biomarker: 57% compared to 12% of APOE4

In conclusion, in data from genome-wide association studies (GWAS) biotx.ai identified gene interactions which resulted in a mathematical model that predicts Late-onset Alzheimer's Disease with an accuracy of 85%. In other words: Our approach predicts the disease status of 9 out of 10 patients correctly, whereas the standard APOE4 test only predicts less than 6 out of 10 correctly. In the last 12 months we analyzed several datasets from customers, our own, or from academic collaborations resulting in a portfolio of seven NGBs for various diseases. Each one offers an improvement over the corresponding monogenic biomarker currently in clinical use.

References

Deloitte: A new future for R&D? Measuring the return from pharmaceutical innovation 2017
Cook et al., Nat Rev Drug Discov, 2014,13, 419-431
Nelson MR et al.,Nat Genetics,2015,47,856-860

marcoschmidt
en_GBEnglish
de_DEGerman en_GBEnglish

Künstliche Intelligenz

Eine Künstliche Intelligenz speziell entwickelt für die Analyse biomedizinischer Daten

Marco F. Schmidt
biotx.ai GmbH c/o TechCode Jägerallee 16 14469 Potsdam, Germany
schmidt@biotx.ai

Aufgrund der langen, kostenintensiven und der hohen Ausfallraten in klinischen Studien (insbesondere der Phasen II und III) läuft die Entwicklung von Arzneimitteln Gefahr, ihre Rentabilität zu verlieren.1 Klinische Studien scheitern hauptsächlich daran, dass a) sich das adressierte Wirkstoffziel sich für den Krankheitsmechanismus nicht als zentral erweist und b) die falschen Patienten für klinische Studien ausgewählt werden.2

Eine Möglichkeit, die Erfolgsraten deutlich zu verbessern, bieten genetische Biomarker, die aus der Analyse vorhandener biomedizinischer Daten für die Validierung des Wirkstoffziels und, noch wichtiger, für die Stratifizierung der richtigen Patienten besteht.3 Biomedizinische Daten sind jedoch aufgrund ihrer Struktur mit kleinen Stichprobengrößen und vielen Merkmalen (sogenannte Hochdimensionalität) schwierig zu analysieren.

Die meisten aktuellen genetischen Biomarker beruhen auf einzelnen Genvarianten und sind daher in ihrer Vorhersagekraft begrenzt. Da viele Krankheiten durch komplexe Wechselwirkungen mehrerer Genvarianten entstehen, erscheint es sinnvoll, polygene Biomarker (bestehend aus mehreren Genvarianten) zu suchen. Die Problematik biomedizinischer Daten (kleine Probengröße, viele Merkmale) macht die Entdeckung polygener Marker jedoch sehr schwierig.

Maschinelle Lernen

Abb. 1. Das Maschinelle Lernen von biotx.ai identifiziert komplexe Wechselwirkungen in biomedizinischen Daten und liefert Biomarker der nächsten Generation mit hervorragender Genauigkeit und Empfindlichkeit im Vergleich zu vorhandenen monovarianten Biomarkern.

Im Gegensatz zu bisherigen Verfahren zur Identifizierung von Biomarkern wurde das Verfahren der biotx.ai entwickelt, um komplexe Wechselwirkungen in hochdimensionalen biomedizinischen Daten zuverlässig zu finden (siehe Abb. 1). Dies ermöglicht die Entdeckung von polygenen Biomarkern der nächsten Generation, die weitaus leistungsfähiger sind als die derzeitigen Biomarker, die auf einer einzigen Genvariante beruhen: Für komplexe Krankheiten wie die spät-einsetzende Alzheimer-Krankheit zeigt der derzeit verwendete (monogene) Biomarker APOE4 nur eine Genauigkeit von unter 60% (50% ist zufällig). Im Gegensatz dazu verwendet der Alzheimer Biomarker von biotx.ai polygene Wechselwirkungen und hat eine Genauigkeit von 85%.

Durch die Verwendung von Biomarkern der nächsten Generation von biotx.ai mit ihrer deutlich besseren Sensitivität und Spezifität bei der Vorhersage können die richtigen Patienten für die klinischen Studien der Phasen II und III ausgewählt werden, wodurch der Medikamentenentwicklungsprozess schneller, teurer und vor allem erfolgreicher wird.

Wie bereits erwähnt, zeigen biomedizinische Daten die problematische Struktur kleiner Patientenzahlen von oft weniger als 500 in Bezug auf die untersuchten Merkmale, die im Genomzeit alter oft über 1 Million und mehr liegen. Die Analyse solcher hochdimensionalen Daten, insbesondere beim Testen auf Interaktionen, neigt aufgrund des multiplen Testproblems in der Statistik zu einer hohen Rate falsch positiver Ergebnisse: Je mehr Hypothesen man auf einem Datensatz testet, desto höher wird die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass eine davon (fehlerhaft) als zutreffend angenommen wird.

Die Einzigartigkeit unseres Verfahrens ist die Fähigkeit, das Problem des mehrfachen Testens abzumildern, d. H. die tatsächlichen Auswirkungen beizubehalten, aber die Falsch-Positiven auszuschließen. Dazu werden strukturelle und mathematische Eigenschaften biomedizinischer Daten sowie kontextuelle Informationen aus biomedizinischen Zeitschriften und Datenbanken genutzt. Der Ansatz funktioniert und jeder gefundene, polygene Biomarker wird anhand von bis zu 5 unabhängigen Datensätzen (Out-of-Sample Prediction) derselben Krankheit unter Verwendung von statistischen Beurteilungen wie Genauigkeit, Sensitivität und Spezifität validiert.

Die Verwendung dieser Metriken (siehe Erläuterung und Beispiel in Tab. 1) ermöglicht auch den objektiven Vergleich unserer polygenen Biomarker mit anderen Biomarkern..

Tab. 1. Die Vorhersagequalität eines Biomarkers kann durch Präzisions- und Rückrufanalyse nach den genannten Gleichungen bestimmt werden.

TRUE STATE”

VORHERSAGE

Gesund

Krank

Gesund

Wahr Negativ (WN)

Falsch Positiv (FP)

Krank

Falsch Negativ (FN)

Wahr Positiv (WP)

Präzision = TP / (FP + TP)

biotx.ai AD Biomarker: 85% im Vergleich 60% von APOE4

Sensitivität = TP / (FN + TP)

biotx.ai AD Biomarker: 57% im Vergleich 12% von APOE4

Zusammengefasst identifizierte biotx.ai aus biomedizinischen Daten Gen-Gen-Wechselwirkungen, die zu einem mathematischen Modell führen, das die spät einsetzende Alzheimer-Krankheit mit einer Genauigkeit von bis zu 85% vorhersagt. Mit anderen Worten: Unser Ansatz sagt den Krankheitsstatus von 9 von 10 Patienten richtig voraus, während der bisherige APOE4-Standardtest nur 6 von 10 richtig vorhersagt. In den letzten 12 Monaten haben wir mehrere Datensätze aus der pharmazeutischen Industrie, unseren eigenen oder von akademischen Kooperationen analysiert, was zu einem Portfolio von sieben polygenen Biomarkern für verschiedene Krankheiten geführt hat. Jeder einzelne bietet eine Verbesserung gegenüber dem entsprechenden monogenen Biomarker, der derzeit im klinischen Einsatz ist.

Literaturverzeichnis

Deloitte: A new future for R&D? Measuring the return from pharmaceutical innovation 2017
Cook et al., Nat Rev Drug Discov, 2014,13, 419-431
Nelson MR et al.,Nat Genetics,2015,47,856-860

marcoschmidt
de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman