Gesundheitskompetenz und Gesundheitszustände

Julia Göhler

The relevant contribution “Digilog” can make in promoting health literacy and general health

Over 40 million Germans, i.e. over half of the German population, find it difficult to keep themselves healthy (cf. Sørensen, 2015). In comparison to society as a whole, people in this group exhibit riskier behaviour in terms of health, are less healthy and are admitted to hospital more frequently. It is, for example, hard for them to understand the package information leaflet of their medication or the nutritional information displayed on food packaging. They find it difficult to access reliable information on medical conditions and to assess whether seeking a second medical opinion would be necessary and prudent (cf. Schaeffer et al., 2017).

Even though older people, socially disadvantaged and less-educated sections of society account for a larger share of this group (fig. 1, influencing factors), people of all ages, all social statuses and all educational levels are affected by adverse health behaviour, poor health status and acute or intensive use of the health care system (fig. 1, Health outcome) - in short: by inadequate health literacy competencies (cf. Kickbusch et a., 2016).

Einflussfaktoren

Figure 1: Factors influencing health literacy and health outcomes (adapted from Sorensen et al. (2012))

Health literacy refers to "people’s knowledge, motivation and competencies to access, understand, assess and apply relevant health information in various forms in order to make judgements and take decisions in everyday life concerning [health care], disease prevention and health promotion to maintain or improve their quality of life throughout their lives" (Kickbusch et al., 2016, p. 6). (Kickbusch et al., 2016, p. 6).

As the manifestations of health literacy influence the actions of the individual as well as society, i.e. affect people's behaviour in terms of health and their state of health, this raises the question of how to promote health literacy.

Regarding the status of health literacy in Germany, it can be argued that the education system is not yet sufficiently prepared for the requirements of fostering comprehensive and long-term health literacy, for example by teaching basic skills such as reading, listening, logical thinking and awareness to the importance of one's own health. At the same time, compensating for these missing skills, in terms of lifelong learning, does not seem to have been fully successful, in that acquired knowledge and skills would have improved the health of the population.

At the same time, it should be noted that the context in which health literacy is to be achieved is challenging. For example, it seems paradoxical that there is active promotion of relatively unhealthy foods and lifestyles as well as a highly complex health system, which makes it difficult to find and manage health-related information. (Schaeffer et al., 2018).

This makes it all the more important to consider health literacy as an issue for society as a whole and to proceed systematically with regard to its promotion (WHO, 1986, 2016), in order to be able to develop the wide-ranging sub-competencies (Fig. 2).

Subdimension

Figure 2: Sub-dimension 'Application of health-relevant information' from the HLS-EU conceptual model (Sorensen et al., 2012), extended by the transfer to E-health

Following this, the National Framework on Health Literacy (Schaeffer, et al., 2017 & 2018a, b) calls for the inclusion of health literacy in education and the curriculum by means of 15 points and associated solutions. Communication between the health professions and patients must also be made clearer, easier to understand and more effective, and patient participation must be facilitated and strengthened (cf. Schaeffer, 2018a, pp. 32-51).

If these requirements for the development of health literacy are coupled with the potential of e-health1 approaches, the focus should above all be on digital solutions, e.g. wearables, firstly to improve the vastly inadequate health literacy, but moreover to provide products and services that have the potential to offset the existing, low level of health literacy. For this purpose, an ECG sensor was developed in the 'digilog' joint project, which records heart beats wirelessly. The data can be transferred via Bluetooth to a smartphone and to a secure data storage device. In this respect, it is possible to contribute towards maintaining health both preventively and in acute situations. If successful, patients will be supported in making more informed decisions about e-health services, avoiding health risks and acting preventively by means of information provided to them by trained health professionals.

Sources

BMG (2018). Definition E-Health
www.bundesgesundheitsministerium.de (letzter Zugriff, 01.11.2018)
Kickbusch, I., Pelikan, J. M., Haslbeck, J., Apfel, F., Tsouros, A. (Hrsg.) (2016): Gesund-heitskompetenz. Die Fakten 2016.
www.careum.ch (letzter Zugriff, 01.11.2018)
Schaeffer, D., Berens, E. M., Weishaar, H., & Vogt, D. (2017). Gesundheitskompetenz in Deutschland–Nationaler Aktionsplan. In Public Health Forum (Vol. 25, No. 1, pp. 13-15). De Gruyter.
Schaeffer, D., Hurrelmann, K., Bauer, U. und Kolpatzik, K. (Hrsg.) (2018a): Nationaler Aktionsplan Gesundheitskompetenz. Die Gesundheitskompetenz in Deutschland stärken. Berlin: KomPart.
Schaeffer, D., Hurrelmann, K., Bauer, U., Kolpatzik, K., Gille, S., & Vogt, D. (2018b). Der Nationale Aktionsplan Gesundheitskompetenz–Notwendigkeit, Ziel und Inhalt. Das Gesundheitswesen.
Schaeffer, D., Vogt, D., Berens, E. M., & Hurrelmann, K. (2017). Gesundheitskompetenz der Bevölkerung in Deutschland: Ergebnisbericht.
Sørensen, K., Pelikan, J. M., Röthlin, F., Ganahl, K., Slonska, Z., Doyle, G., … & Falcon, M. (2015). Health literacy in Europe: comparative results of the European health literacy survey (HLS-EU). European journal of public health, 25(6), 1053-1058.
Sørensen, K., Van den Broucke, S., Fullam, J., Doyle, G., Pelikan, J., Slonska, Z., & Brand, H. (2012). Health literacy and public health: a systematic review and integration of definitions and models. BMC public health, 12(1), 80.
World Health Organization Europe (1986). Ottawa-Charta zur Gesundheitsförderung. Kopenhagen: WHO.
World Health Organization (2016). Shanghai Declaration on Promoting Health in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
www. who.int(letzter Zugriff, 01.11.2018)

Julia Göhler

Julia Göhler

en_GBEnglish
de_DEGerman en_GBEnglish

Gesundheitskompetenz und Gesundheitszustände

Julia Göhler

‚Digilog’ als relevanter Beitrag zur Förderung von Gesundheitskompetenz und Gesundheitszuständen

Über 40 Millionen der Deutschen, d. h. über die Hälfte der deutschen Bevölkerung hat Probleme damit sich gesund zu erhalten (vgl. Sørensen, 2015). Im gesamtgesellschaftlichen Vergleich zeigen Menschen dieses Bevölkerungsanteils ein riskanteres gesundheitsrelevantes Verhalten, weisen eine schlechtere Gesundheit auf und werden häufiger ins Krankenhaus eingewiesen. Es macht ihnen bspw. erhebliche Probleme den Beipackzettel ihrer Medikamente oder Angaben auf Lebensmittelverpackungen zu verstehen. Vertrauenswürdige Informationen über eine Krankheit zu finden und zu entscheiden wann eine Zweitmeinung von einem Arzt wichtig wäre, fällt ihnen schwer (vgl. Schaeffer et al., 2017).

Auch wenn ältere Menschen, sozialschwächere und bildungsferne Gruppen einen größeren Anteil an dieser Zuschreibung ausmachen (Abb. 1, Einflussfaktoren), sind Menschen allen Alters, aller sozialen Status und aller Bildungsniveaus von ungünstigem Gesundheitsverhalten, kritischen Gesundheitszuständen und der akuten bzw. intensiven Inanspruchnahme des Versorgungssystems (Abb. 1, Gesundheitliches Outcome) – kurz: von unzureichender Gesundheitskompetenz – betroffen (vgl. Kickbusch et a., 2016).

Einflussfaktoren

Abbildung 1: Einflussfaktoren auf die Gesundheitskompetenz und das Gesundheitliche Outcome (adaptiert in Anlehnung an Sorensen et al. (2012))

Unter Gesundheitskompetenz wird „das Wissen, die Motivation und die Fähigkeit von Menschen [verstanden], relevante Gesundheitsinformationen in unterschiedlicher Form zu finden, zu verstehen, zu beurteilen und anzuwenden, um im Alltag in den Bereichen [Gesundheitsversorgung], Krankheitsprävention und Gesundheitsförderung Urteile fällen und Entscheidungen treffen zu können, die ihre Lebensqualität während des gesamten Lebensverlaufs erhalten oder verbessern.“ (Kickbusch et al., 2016, S. 6).

Da die Ausprägungen von Gesundheitskompetenz für den Einzelnen, allerdings ebenso für die Gesellschaft handlungsleitend werden, d. h. Einfluss u. a. auf das Gesundheitsverhalten und den Gesundheitszustand von Menschen nehmen, drängt sich die Frage nach der Förderung von Gesundheitskompetenz geradezu auf.

Unter Betrachtung des Status von Gesundheitskompetenz in Deutschland, kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass das Bildungssystem noch nicht ausreichend auf die Anforderungen, eine umfassende Gesundheitskompetenz zu entwickeln, vorbereitet ist, etwa indem grundlegende Fähigkeiten, wie Lesen, Zuhören, logisch Denken und eine Sensibilität für die Relevanz der eigenen Gesundheit nachhaltig ausgebildet worden wären. Gleichzeitig scheint ein Ausgleich dieser fehlenden Fähigkeiten, im Sinne des lebenslangen Lernens, nicht umfassend gelungen, insofern als dass Wissen und Fähigkeiten erworben und sich der Gesundheitsstatus der Bevölkerung verbessert hätte.

Unterdessen ist zu konstatieren, dass sich der Kontext, in dem Gesundheitskompetenz zu erwerben ist, als herausfordernd darstellt. Beispielsweise erscheinen darunter die aktive Bewerbung eher ungesunder Nahrungsmittel und Lebensweisen sowie ein durchaus komplexes Gesundheitssystem, welches das Finden und Managen gesundheitsrelevanter Informationen eher schwer ermöglicht, paradox (Schaeffer et al., 2018).

Umso entscheidender ist es Gesundheitskompetenz stärker als gesamtgesellschaftliches Thema zu betrachten und bezüglich deren Förderung systematisch vorzugehen (WHO, 1986, 2016), um die umfangreichen Teilkompetenzen aufbauen zu können (Abb. 2).

Subdimension

Abbildung 2: Subdimension ‚Gesundheitsrelevante Informationen anwenden’ des konzeptionellen Modells des HLS-EU (Sorensen et al., 2012), erweitert um den Übertrag auf E-Health

U. a. in Anlehnung daran fordert der Nationale Rahmen Gesundheitskompetenz (Schaeffer, et al., 2017 & 2018a,b) mittels 15 Punkten und dazugehörigen Lösungsansätzen bspw. die feste Implementierung von Gesundheitskompetenz in Bildungs- und Lehrplänen. Ebenso wird verlangt die Kommunikation zwischen den Gesundheitsprofessionen und Nutzern verständlich und wirksam zu gestalten sowie die Partizipation von Patienten zu erleichtern und zu stärken (vgl. Schaeffer, 2018a, S. 32 – 51).

Überträgt man diese Forderungen zur Entwicklung von Gesundheitskompetenz auf das Potenzial von E-Health1-Ansätzen, so stehen vor allem digitale Lösungen im Vordergrund, bspw. Wearables, um zum einen die umfangreich unzureichende Gesundheitskompetenz zu fördern, aber vor allem Produkte bzw. Leistungen bereitzustellen, die das Potenzial haben auch eine bestehende, geringe Gesundheitskompetenz aufzufangen. Im Verbundvorhaben ‘digilog’ wurde dazu u. a. ein EKG-Sensor entwickelt, der kabellos Herzschläge aufzeichnet. Die Werte können per Bluetooth an ein Smartphone und auf einen sicheren Datenspeicher übertragen werden. Insofern kann präventiv, als auch in akuten Situationen ein Beitrag dazu geleistet werden Gesundheit zu schützen. Über eine Information der Patienten durch geschulte Gesundheitsakteure wird im Erfolgsfall dabei unterstützt, dass Patienten informiertere Entscheidungen zu E-Health-Angeboten treffen, Gesundheitsrisiken vermeiden sowie präventiv handeln.

Quellen

BMG (2018). Definition E-Health
www.bundesgesundheitsministerium.de (letzter Zugriff, 01.11.2018)
Kickbusch, I., Pelikan, J. M., Haslbeck, J., Apfel, F., Tsouros, A. (Hrsg.) (2016): Gesund-heitskompetenz. Die Fakten 2016.
www.careum.ch (letzter Zugriff, 01.11.2018)
Schaeffer, D., Berens, E. M., Weishaar, H., & Vogt, D. (2017). Gesundheitskompetenz in Deutschland–Nationaler Aktionsplan. In Public Health Forum (Vol. 25, No. 1, pp. 13-15). De Gruyter.
Schaeffer, D., Hurrelmann, K., Bauer, U. und Kolpatzik, K. (Hrsg.) (2018a): Nationaler Aktionsplan Gesundheitskompetenz. Die Gesundheitskompetenz in Deutschland stärken. Berlin: KomPart.
Schaeffer, D., Hurrelmann, K., Bauer, U., Kolpatzik, K., Gille, S., & Vogt, D. (2018b). Der Nationale Aktionsplan Gesundheitskompetenz–Notwendigkeit, Ziel und Inhalt. Das Gesundheitswesen.
Schaeffer, D., Vogt, D., Berens, E. M., & Hurrelmann, K. (2017). Gesundheitskompetenz der Bevölkerung in Deutschland: Ergebnisbericht.
Sørensen, K., Pelikan, J. M., Röthlin, F., Ganahl, K., Slonska, Z., Doyle, G., … & Falcon, M. (2015). Health literacy in Europe: comparative results of the European health literacy survey (HLS-EU). European journal of public health, 25(6), 1053-1058.
Sørensen, K., Van den Broucke, S., Fullam, J., Doyle, G., Pelikan, J., Slonska, Z., & Brand, H. (2012). Health literacy and public health: a systematic review and integration of definitions and models. BMC public health, 12(1), 80.
World Health Organization Europe (1986). Ottawa-Charta zur Gesundheitsförderung. Kopenhagen: WHO.
World Health Organization (2016). Shanghai Declaration on Promoting Health in the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
www. who.int(letzter Zugriff, 01.11.2018)

Julia Göhler

Julia Göhler

de_DEGerman
en_GBEnglish de_DEGerman